When Gigantamax Meowth flees Pokémon Sword & Shield’s Wild Area tomorrow, a whole swarm of Gigantamax Pokémon will be taking the feline’s empty dens. 

As reported by the Pokémon HOME app, 23 previously released Gigantamax Pokémon will be returning to Max Raid battles so that all players, new and day one Trainers, can beef up their PokéDex and teams. Kicking off the same time as the recently announced Pokémon presentation concerning Pokémon Sword & Shield’s Expansion Pass, you’ll find the following Pokémon: 

Gigantamax Snorlax is more likely to appear in both Pokémon Sword and Pokémon Shield, but the other Gigantamax Pokémon you may encounter will vary depending on which version of the game you play.

Pokémon Sword players are more likely to encounter Gigantamax versions of Gengar, Kingler, Lapras, Garbodor, Corviknight, Appleton, Toxtricity (Amped Form), Centiskorch, Grimmsnarl, Alcremie, and Duraludon.

Pokémon Shield players are more likely to encounter Gigantamax versions of Charizard, Butterfree, Machamp, Orbeetle, Drednaw, Coalossal, Flapple, Sandaconda, Toxtricity (Low Key Form), Hatterene, and Copperajah.

This massive Gigantamax Max Raid Battle event starts Tuesday, June 2nd, at 6 a.m. PT | 9 a.m. ET and will end on Monday, June 29th, at 4:59 p.m. PT | 7:59 p.m. ET.

Leave a Comment

Written by Jennifer Burch

Illustrator, designer, writer and big Nintendo geek, you can find Jennifer with an N3DS within reach 24/7. As the oldest of three, she has survived many Mario Party, Super Smash Bros. and Mario Kart sessions intact in addition to getting her brothers hooked on some really weird games. (Cubivore anyone?)

Jennifer Burch