Content Continues Below

The second round of paid DLC part of Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3: The Black Order’s Expansion Pass is now available, adding new playable characters and more content to the game.

As part of the “X-Men: Rise of the Phoenix” paid DLC, Iceman, Phoenix, Cable, and Gambit are all now available along with a new “Danger Room” mode and the following costumes:


  • Storm: Punk
  • Loki: Kid
  • Wolverine: Old Man Logan
  • Psylocke: House of M
  • Nightcrawler: House of M
  • Magneto: Modern
  • Doctor Strange: Blue Mage
  • Scarlet Witch: Classic
  • Elsa Bloodstone: Zombie Hunter
  • Ghost Rider: Ghost Racers
  • Cyclops: Astonishing
  • Colossus: Age of Apocalypse
  • Blade: Classic
  • Moon Knight: Armored
  • Punisher: Age of Apocalypse


Players can unlock the four new DLC characters by playing the game’s Gauntlet mode, added in the “Marvel Knights: Curse of the Vampire” DLC.

However, new non-paid content has also been added to the game, like a level cap raise to 200, “part of the new Danger Room mode,” new outfits for Blade, Moon Knight, Punisher, and Morbius, plus new voice lines and more.

In the new “Danger Room” mode, two teams race against each other to complete a series of objectives.

These objectives can involve fighting a series of bosses or defeating a set number of enemies.

This mode can be played online, locally, or solo with AI teammates.

The final wave of Expansion Pass DLC, “Shadow of Doom,” will arrive next year — in “Spring 2020.”

What’re your thoughts on the new X-Men additions? Let us know in the comments!

Need help unlocking Marvel Ultimate Alliance 3’s DLC characters? Check out our guide to all the characters in the game!

Leave a Comment

Written by Daniel Dell-Cornejo

Daniel is an editor at Nintendo Wire. Always with his head in the clouds, he is never apart from his creative thoughts – a blessing for an aspiring fiction writer. As a journalist and lifelong gamer, he aims to provide readers with the very best in Nintendo coverage.