Happy 25 years, Bokujō Monogatari! The farming-sim game better known as Harvest Moon (from 1996 – 2013) and Story of Seasons (2014 and onward) celebrated its 25th-anniversary last month on August 9th. Starting on the SNES, this humble farming game has spanned multiple games and spin-off series (Rune Factory, Innocent Life, Hometown Story, and more) and inspired countless farming-sim games. To celebrate, XSeed has released a video looking back at the entire series, featuring a special 25th-anniversary illustration and what’s next for Story of Seasons.

 

 

 

Along with the video, XSeed and Marvelous announced that a special panel about the Story of Seasons series will be taking place this weekend. Screening at PAX West and streaming on Twitch on Saturday, September 4th at 12:15 p.m. PT | 3:15 p.m. ET, the panel will showcase the franchise, its upcoming releases (ports to PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One), and a Q&A session with Pioneers of Olive Town’s direct, Hikaru Nakano.

Plus, building onto this week’s news about the free Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin costume for Pioneers of Olive Town, we have more images of how Princess Sakuna’s Heavenly Garb will look in-game. It’ll be available to download for free starting on Wednesday, September 15th at 9:59 a.m. PT | 12:59 p.m. ET.

 

 

Leave a Comment

Written by Jennifer Burch

Illustrator, designer, writer and big Nintendo geek, you can find Jennifer with an N3DS within reach 24/7. As the oldest of three, she has survived many Mario Party, Super Smash Bros. and Mario Kart sessions intact in addition to getting her brothers hooked on some really weird games. (Cubivore anyone?)