Content Continues Below

A few months have passed since Series 9 of Pokémon Ranked Battles commenced, which means it’s time to mix up the rules again!

In a blog post, The Pokémon Company announced that the upcoming Series 10 in Pokémon Sword and Shield will once again allow one restricted Legendary Pokémon per team. This is similar to Series 8, while Series 7 and 9 did not allow Legendary Pokémon.

The eligible Pokémon include the following:


  • Mewtwo
  • Lugia
  • Ho-Oh
  • Kyogre
  • Groudon
  • Rayquaza
  • Dialga
  • Palkia
  • Giratina
  • Reshiram
  • Zekrom
  • Kyurem
  • Xerneas
  • Yveltal
  • Zygarde
  • Cosmog
  • Cosmoem
  • Solgaleo
  • Lunala
  • Necrozma
  • Zacian
  • Zamazenta
  • Eternatus


Mythical Pokémon are still not allowed, and Pokémon will not be allowed to Dynamax.

The new season begins August 1st, so start planning your team now!


Leave a Comment

Written by Bryan Finch

A video editor by trade, Bryan Finch is a lifetime Nintendo fan, and he loves writing about his passions. He also spends too much time playing and watching fighting games. Bryan enjoys​​ movies, comics, cooking with his wife, and the idea of Elite Beat Agents 2.