Like all other conventions that were scheduled for this year, Gamescom 2020 has decided to shift its focus to a digital presentation due to the pandemic unfortunately affecting public appearances. Gamescom host Geoff Keighley went to social media to make it clear as to when the event will go live and what the newest year will feature.

 

 

According to Keighley’s latest update video, Gamescom 2020’s opening night livestream will be over two hours long with well over 20 games to be featured from both next and current generation platforms. Microsoft, Sega, Capcom, and Bandai Namco are just a few of the major AAA companies that will be making announcements and appearances throughout the event, but Keighley has reassured that several indie developers and tech companies will also join the fray.

As several fans in the comments have pointed out, in Keighley’s update the host oddly features a Batarang on display across from a Game Awards trophy at his desk. This has to lead many to believe that Warner Bros. Montreal’s newest Batman title expected to be revealed this week at the official DC Fandom event will be one of the larger titles making an appearance.

Gamescom 2020 will be held at 11 a.m. PT | 2 p.m. ET | 8 p.m. CET from August 27th to August 30th. The official gamescom website will act as the event’s hub world for fans, media, and developers looking for video game showcases and information regarding announcements.

 

Leave a Comment

Written by Marc Kaliroff

Ever since owning a cobalt blue Game Boy Advance, Nintendo is his preferred way of gaming. Marc is a journalist, creative writer, and video producer. While his focus may be on providing news, he spends his days preparing reviews for games of the present and past.

Marc Kaliroff