No rumor quite gets the internet riled up like one regarding a long-awaited Mother 3 localization. Today, 1-UP Studio only fueled that fire via a Facebook post sharing their Switch event invite.

Formerly known as Brownie Brown, 1-UP Studio was the team behind the Earthbound sequel and a variety of other GBA and DS games, with a strong link to Nintendo. While they could be working on something else, like a sequel to Level-5’s Fantasy Life, the event invite coming in the midst of various sources claiming the announcement of Mother 3 is forthcoming could be significant.

Of course it’s worth looking at it realistically too – as the event is taking place in Japan, with English subtitles, it could be that a Mother 3 announcement would be exclusive to the Japanese market. Seeing as it’s the global unveiling of the Switch in full, however, it’s doubtful the company would throw up that divide.

We’ll just have to wait and see, as thankfully the Switch event is a mere week away now on January 12th at 8:00 p.m. PST | 10:00 p.m. CST | 11:00 p.m. EST. Nintendo Wire will be sure to bring you live reporting, so stay tuned.


Leave a Comment

Written by Tom Brown

Always excited to see something a little bit different, Tom is ready to report on games of all shapes and sizes, whether they be wonderful or weird (or, better yet, both.) Rest assured, if Nintendo ever announces Elite Beat Agents 2, he’ll be there.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.